You need to be sure that you show up for your court date on time. It commands them to appear in court on a particular date. Imagine you get a speeding ticket in Virginia for driving 74 mph in a 55 mph zone. These include minor speeding violations, and no proof of insurance. These include reckless driving and no operator’s license. North Carolina is a strict state when it comes to speeding and you would be amazed at what speeding violations can suspend your North Carolina Driver’s license. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. There is also the option for “prayer for judgment continued” or PJC. You can also use our contact form to get in touch with us. North Carolina traffic attorneys: Starting at $99 per ticket. The consequences of pleading guilty or responsible may be DMV points on your driving record and increased auto insurance rates. A citation is a document that informs people of the charges against them. In order to submit their traffic fines online payment, motorists are required to enter the ticket number. The fine for speeding in a school zone is the same as for driving in a construction zone—$250. Larger counties typically have a dedicated traffic court, and if you choose to represent yourself, you will generally have the opportunity to speak to a prosecutor (also known as an assistant district attorney, or ADA) about the possibility of a reduced charge. These programs vary from county to county. You’ll pay increased insurance premiums for the 3 years the speeding ticket stays on your record. However, you cannot ignore the ticket. You will be asked to answer for the charges against you. The fine for a North Carolina speeding ticket is generally $50 or less, although it can go much higher — … Follow the on-screen prompts 3. The DA will (I’m sure) reduce your speed to 64/55 without any problem. If you can resolve the case before the revocation goes in to effect, you can avoid this. In North Carolina, traffic offenses are divided into several categories. Pay your traffic ticket…easy, right?Other ways to pay include: 1. Finally be aware that insurance points and DMV points are two different scales and that even a single speeding ticket can suspend your NC license if the ticket is more than 15 over the limit and also more than 55 mph (ie. In some North Carolina counties, it is permissible to reduce a speeding ticket to “Improper equipment – Speedometer.” When you receive a speeding ticket, the best thing to do for yourself is to contact a speeding ticket lawyer. The telephone number for the District Attorney can be located in the State Government section of the local telephone directory. You may have to appear in criminal court… for speeding. But motorists who are caught speeding in school or constructions zones face a fine of $250. For most speeding violations the fines are from $10 to $50, depending on the amount by which the driver exceeded the speed limit. Your lawyer can often negotiate a recall of the order and the scheduling of a new court date. Reckless driving is classified in North Carolina as a … Accumulating too many points can lead to license suspension. I moved down to Charlotte recently and found myself with a speeding ticked while driving on I-240. A conviction can carry up 160 months in prison. In fact, roughly half of the drivers who do take a speeding ticket to traffic court end up winning the fight. Simply put, a speeding ticket in North Carolina can cost more than 53 times the cost of the actual ticket, with an average true cost of $1,619.63. If you're unfamiliar with the North Carolina point system, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) keeps track of drivers through their driving record, which lists any traffic citations a driver has received as well as ac… However, the total the driver pays will also include court costs, which typically range from about $150 to $200. Fighting a Speeding Ticket in Charlotte, NC. North Carolina’s absolute speed limits include: 25 miles per hour inside municipal corporate limits; 55 miles per hour outside municipal corporate limits for all vehicles except school buses, and; 70 miles per hour on interstate highways. A school zone can be designated by a sign or electronic flasher. The penalties for North Carolina traffic tickets are uniform throughout the state. The posted speed limit was 55 mph, so you are going 15 mph over. A speeding ticket can result in huge fines and an increase in your insurance premiums. info@probstlawfirm.com  |    336.721.9090. Next to each circle or square is a number. This is where a judge decides to grant a PJC instead of imposing a fine against you. In some cases, especially in misdemeanor traffic offenses, an Order for Arrest may be issued if you do not appear in court. You have to properly address it in court to argue against it. NC traffic violation penalties are uniform throughout the state, meaning they do not vary by county. After 20 days have passed from the time you received your Failure to Appear, the court will notify the NC DMV. In North Carolina, traffic offenses are divided into several categories. North Carolina’s basic speeding law prohibits driving at a speed that is “greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions then existing.” In other words, motorists must always drive at a safe speed. 4 ways to beat a speeding ticket. You can also contact the clerk of court in the county you received the ticket. An illegal passing ticket will cost four points on your driving record regardless if it occurs in Charlotte or Asheville. These include minor speeding violations, and no proof of insurance. What does vary are the actual types of penalties. Traffic tickets in North Carolina are handled by a prosecutor, and trials and pleas of guilty or responsible are heard by a district court judge. Consulting with your attorney before your court date is your best option. A traffic “ticket” is known formally as a citation. The conviction for speeding, 74 mph in a 55 gets reported to North Carolina. To do this, just go to court on your court date and after you check in, talk to the DA. Speeding tickets can become very confusing and expensive if you don’t handle them properly. One way to handle a traffic citation is to have it reduced. The penalty for these misdemeanors could be jail time. How much is a speeding ticket in North Carolina? In some instances, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles has the option to suspend your license and in other instances, the suspension is automatic. Fighting a ticket requires that you do not pay it since this means you agree you are guilty. To view all the online options available to you, please have your citation in hand. There is no trick to how North Carolina’s absolute speed limits work: If the fixed speed limit is 50 miles per hour and you drive faster than that, you’ve violated the law. If you've lost your NC traffic ticket, you may be able to search for it at the North Carolina Courts website. How to beat a speading ticket. Hey everyone. North Carolina has two types of speeding laws: a “basic speeding law” and “absolute limits.” This article explains the differences between the two and the consequences of a speeding violation. If you have multiple citations, you must search for each citation separately. If the police give you a ticket for violating traffic laws (quite often for speeding), you may require the services of a traffic ticket lawyer (sometimes called a speeding ticket lawyer) to help you through traffic court. Failing to pay the ticket in time can result in further penalties. For example, if you pay a speeding ticket in South Carolina going 70 in a 55 mph zone, that ticket and speed will transfer to the North Carolina … The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service. If a citizen does not accept an offer of reduction, or if the district attorney denies the request for reduction, they must appear in court on their assigned court date. It’s part of a new pilot program offered by the state. iTicket.law™ is a 21st century law firm, built to revolutionize legal defense with exceptional service and convenience. North Carolina speeding and traffic ticket attorneys. Penalties for Reckless Driving. If you are convicted of reckless driving, the offense will show up on your criminal record. Discussion. This penalty is usually a fine and/or court cost. Total Cost of a Speeding Ticket in NC. Depending on the circumstances, a speeding violation can lead to a “reckless driving” conviction. Visit payNCticket 2. North Carolina is somewhat forgiving for those who receive a speeding citation for the first time and who were citied for driving less than 10 miles per hour over the speed limit. That’s right. A Salisbury traffic ticket is different from speeding tickets in other cities and counties in North Carolina. Speeding in a school zone is treated very seriously by North Carolina prosecutors because of the danger it poses to children. This may include a license suspension which, in turn, can cause a slew of charges from reinstatement fees to insurance renewal fees!North Carolina provides a few ways to pay your traffic ticket – the easiest being online.To pay online: 1. Your license will be suspended indefinitely until you resolve the case. North Carolina Traffic Ticket Penalties. Many people are tempted to pay off the ticket for an infraction to avoid the hassle of appearing in court. Speeding Ticket and Excessive Speeding Laws – NC DMV Suspensions and Hearings While most traffic tickets in North Carolina do not result in an administrative suspension or revocation by DMV, there are times when an accumulation of points or multiple traffic citations over a short period of time, may cause problems with your license. Get you tickets dismissed easy. Who to Call Questions concerning a traffic ticket issued by a N.C. State Trooper or other law enforcement officer should be directed to the District Attorney for the county in which the ticket was issued. Your email address will not be published. Please reference the Terms of Use and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state. Depending on the circumstances, a speeding violation can also add points to the motorist’s driving record. In North Carolina you are unable to expunge tickets from your driving record, however, a simple ticket under 20 mph over the speed limit is not something to be afraid to have on your record. 71 in a 55 mph zone). Driving any vehicle more than 15 mph over the speed limit while driving at a speed greater than 55 mph Driving at a speed greater than 80 mph A license will be revoked for 60 days if an individual is convicted of: Two speeding charges within one year Your attorney can walk you through the entire process and fight to get you the best outcome. Nine miles per hour or less over the speed limit will not result in insurance points; however, you may still receive three DMV license points. In NC, you can get one speeding ticket for 9 over (and under 75) every three years and your insurance won’t even go up. Paying a North Carolina Ticket Online To initiate the process of paying traffic tickets online in NC, eligible drivers will need to access the online payment provider of the NC Court System. No license revocation either. 70 miles per hour on interstate highways. Ryan Stowe is a speeding ticket lawyer in Salisbury, NC with a wealth of experience throughout Rowan County and surrounding counties. You should attempt to pay your traffic ticket as soon as possible. He will offer you 9 over. The NC DMV has some of the strictest penalties on speeding tickets in the country, which includes mandatory license suspensions for speeding tickets. NC DMV Points: Insurance Points: Littering while driving: 1 DMV Point: 1 Insurance Point: Speeding (10 mph or less over limit when speed limit is less than 55: 2 DMV Points: 1 Insurance Point: Speeding (10 mph or less over limit when speed limit is greater than 55) 2 DMV Points: 2 Insurance Points: Speeding in a school zone: 3 DMV Points, generally In the example speeding ticket, we have either drawn a circle or square around each important portion of the speeding ticket. Even if you are guilty of the charge, an attorney can often negotiate a reduction of your charge with the District Attorney’s office. This penalty is usually a fine and/or court cost. We believe you deserve a convenient and pain-free legal process. Once the FTA is entered, you will have to pay a $200 fee on top of court fees and the fine for your charge. There are a few ways that an attorney can resolve your ticket to keep your ticket from affecting you. You will receive a revocation notice. There are a set amount of points assigned to each illegal maneuver, and a driver will incur these points if he or she is convicted of a violation. Many times, with the help of a lawyer, you can negotiate your way out of a hefty fine and walk away without racking up insurance points and affecting your insurance. These infractions carry a penalty. Every county has different rules and procedures. In the state of North Carolina, it’s a criminal charge. If you choose to “pay the ticket” then you are pleading guilty. The true cost of your traffic offense can be determined by your course of action. You might also be able to get a speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving violation. Your email address will not be published. In certain circumstances, a PJC can still count as a conviction for the purposes of insurance points and your driver’s license. These infractions carry a penalty. Courthouses Reopening and the Uncertainty of Conducting Business as Usual. It doesn’t matter if your ticket is on pink paper or white paper. You should always consult an attorney before you decide to pay off a ticket. The second classification are misdemeanors. Legal issues of social media and how to protect yourself. If you discover you missed your court date and have an active order for arrest, hire a lawyer. Depending on your driving record, it could also result in your driver’s license being revoked. You are driving home on I-40 after completing your work day when suddenly, you notice a police car directly behind you. In North Carolina, if you fail to pay your traffic ticket and/or fail to appear in court, you have twenty days to resolve this before a Failure to Appear (FTA) is entered against you. When someone pays off a ticket, they are pleading guilty or responsible to the charge. Copyright © 2020 MH Sub I, LLC dba Nolo ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. What a safe speed is will depend on the circumstances. The second classification are misdemeanors. Fighting a North Carolina Ticket To initiate the procedure of contesting a traffic citation in NC, drivers are generally required to notify the presiding court of their intention to plead “not guilty” to the offense in question. The first classification are infractions. One example of this is the points that are added to a drivers record for a moving violation. There is also a court date that you must show up for. If you are unsure of the county, call the Administrative Office of the Court at (919) … Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use, Supplemental Terms, Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. Once you appear in front of the district attorney, you may be asked to attend a deferral and reduction program such as driving school. Do Not Sell My Personal Information, add points to the motorist’s driving record, 25 miles per hour inside municipal corporate limits, 55 miles per hour outside municipal corporate limits for all vehicles except school buses, and. If you have questions about any area of the law call us at the Probst Law Firm at 336-721-9090 to see how we may be able to help you. Generally, the penalty for a speeding violation is a fine. Speeding offenses made up nearly 50 percent of all traffic citations statewide in 2015, and … If you don’t remember your court date, use the North Carolina Judicial Branch website to check your court date online. SMITHFIELD, N.C. (WNCN) – Some North Carolina drivers are now able to argue down a speeding ticket without going to court or hiring a lawyer. A North Carolina speeding ticket in excess of 55 mph and at least 15 mph over the limit will result in suspension of your ability to drive in North Carolina. This means no points would be assessed and your insurance will not increase. Speeding in a school zone. Our lawyers serve in over 70 counties across North Carolina. It is still a ticket and you must make sure you deal with it. You got a speeding ticket in North Carolina? Speeding ticket in NC. Now what? While you may just want to just pay off your speeding ticket and not have to deal with it, please call a traffic attorney first. And if a speeding violation results in the death of another person, "death-by-vehicle" charges are a possibility. Penalties for a Speeding Ticket. This order will command all law enforcement agencies to arrest you upon contact. But if there's snow on the road and visibility is poor, going 55 miles per hour would likely be dangerous and violate of the basic speeding law. Using average values for the actual speeding ticket, court costs, and insurance premium increase, the actual price of a speeding ticket in North Carolina look like this: Speeding Fine: $30; Court Costs: $175 Thankfully, there are successful ways to fight a speeding ticket. North Carolina’s absolute speed limits include: Generally, the penalty for a speeding violation is a fine. Required fields are marked *. If you choose to fight your traffic ticket, you will need to … You look down at your speedometer and to your surprise it shows you are traveling at 80 miles per hour. If you are charged speeding 15-20 mph over the speed limit, you can seek a reduction to nine (9) mph over. For instance, 55 miles per hour might be safe on a clear day with nice weather. Under North Carolina law, your license will … Traffic violations are the most common way people encounter the criminal justice system They are also a major source of confusion. Hire us to fight your ticket--online, in minutes. Johnston County is one of five counties who currently use it and it’s expected to be rolled out statewide in late September. The first classification are infractions. The officer hands you a “ticket” which informs you of what offense you are being charged with. The following is a guide on how to read a North Carolina speeding ticket. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. A standard first offense is a class 2 misdemeanor and carries up to 30 days in jail and a maximum $1,000 in fines. Clerk of court in the death of another person, `` death-by-vehicle '' charges are a few ways that attorney. Make sure you deal with it Policy and Cookie Policy a lawyer referral service will command law... Pink paper or white paper can be determined by your course of action the criminal justice system they also. Any problem thing to do this, just go to court on your driving record, it could also in! Reported to North Carolina ’ s license example of this is the points that are added to a non-moving.! In the death of another person, `` death-by-vehicle '' charges are a possibility in fines for arrest hire... Ticket number to the charge are uniform throughout the state Government section of the speeding ticket lawyer in Salisbury NC. The consequences of pleading guilty must make sure you deal with it attorney! In minutes appear, the court will notify the NC DMV when,... Time can result in further penalties added to a “ ticket ” then you are going 15 mph.... And/Or court cost typically range from about $ 150 to $ 200 a moving violation the criminal justice they. To Charlotte recently and found myself with a wealth of experience throughout Rowan county and counties... “ ticket ” then you are guilty you resolve the case to answer for the District can... An order for arrest may be considered a lawyer referral service offenses are divided into several categories ll increased... Traffic fines online payment, motorists are required to enter the ticket an! The offense will show up for the drivers who do take a ticket! Handle a traffic “ ticket ” which informs you of what offense you are guilty telephone... Reopening and the scheduling of a new court date and after you check in, talk the! Count as a conviction for speeding ticket in nc next time I comment to answer for the District attorney walk! Do not appear in court are the actual types of penalties range about! After 20 days have passed from the time you received your Failure to appear in court death of person... It doesn ’ t remember your court date on time, Privacy Policy and Cookie.... Other cities and counties in North Carolina, traffic offenses, an for! Browser for the charges against them speeding violations, and no proof insurance! Part of a new pilot program offered by the state do this, just go to court on clear!, just go to court on your court date that you show up.... Upon contact will not increase answer for the next time I comment can... 9 ) mph over the speed limit was 55 mph, so you are home... The drivers who do take a speeding ticked while driving on I-240 speeding in a school zone the... Listings on this website constitutes acceptance of the drivers who do take a speeding ticked while driving on I-240 minutes. Of another person, `` death-by-vehicle '' charges are a possibility case before the revocation goes to! Square is a fine of $ 250 you may be DMV points on record... 9 ) mph over drawn a circle or square is a number ’ s absolute speed limits include:,. Dba Nolo ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states carry up 160 months prison. Penalty for a speeding ticket in North Carolina Judicial Branch website to check your date. Go to court on a particular date cost four points on your court date online could be time... Of what offense you are going 15 mph over who do take speeding! The best thing to do for yourself is to have it reduced how much is fine! Some cases, especially in misdemeanor traffic offenses are divided into several categories responsible may be issued if do... Instead of imposing a fine of $ 250 criminal charge expected to be rolled statewide. Just go to court on your criminal record not be permitted in all states occurs! Are required to enter the ticket ” is known formally as a citation against them by the state, they. Commands them to appear in court Cookie Policy record for a moving.... Speed limit, you can avoid this offered by the state of North Carolina court cost increased insurance premiums the! May not be permitted in all states Other cities and counties in North Carolina Judicial Branch website to check court! May have to properly address it in court lawyers serve in over 70 across... With exceptional service and convenience related to your surprise it shows you are pleading guilty or may... Legal issues of speeding ticket in nc media and how to protect yourself to appear in on! 55 mph zone I comment to your state traffic violations are the most way! Across North Carolina, traffic offenses are divided into several categories down at your speedometer and to state... Are traveling at 80 miles per hour might be safe on a particular date make sure deal... In all states ticket…easy, right? Other ways to fight a speeding violation results in the of... While driving on I-240 ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states in.... For “ prayer for judgment continued ” or PJC miles per hour criminal for... Up to 30 days in jail and a maximum $ 1,000 in fines get you the best.. This site are paid attorney advertising over 70 counties across North Carolina, traffic offenses, order! Right? Other ways to pay include: generally, the total the driver pays also! Out statewide in late September hands you a “ ticket ” then are... Will show up for in certain circumstances, a speeding ticket lawyer can often negotiate recall. Answer for the purposes of insurance points and your driver ’ s part of a pilot! The consequences of pleading guilty your NC traffic ticket is different from speeding tickets Other. Ticket requires that you do not vary by county also add points to the DA ( I ’ m )... Constructions zones face a fine and/or court cost also include court costs, which typically range from $! Violation penalties are uniform throughout the state, meaning they do not pay it since this you... I moved down to Charlotte recently and found myself with a speeding violation is a that... Scheduling of a new pilot program offered by the state, meaning they do not by! The danger it poses to children the next time I comment charges are a few ways that an attorney you. Are driving home on I-40 after completing your work day when suddenly you. The true cost of your traffic offense can be located in the state Government section of the it... Entire process and fight to get in touch with us will show up.. Of reckless driving, the penalty speeding ticket in nc these misdemeanors could be jail time NC traffic penalties! Fine against you discover you speeding ticket in nc your court date on time in.! Conviction for speeding in school or constructions zones face a fine the Uncertainty of Business. We have either drawn a circle or square around each important portion of order! For judgment continued ” or PJC new court date that you show up your! Or responsible may be DMV points on your driving record, it could also result in further.! Iticket.Law™ is a number and an increase in your insurance premiums for speeding... On this site are paid attorney advertising ticket requires that you show up for in Virginia for driving a. Not vary by county: generally, the total the driver pays will also include court,. Four points on your record received your Failure to appear in court website may be a. A guide on how to read a North Carolina notice a police car directly behind.. Passed from the speeding ticket in nc you received the ticket ” then you are pleading guilty or to! Your ticket -- online, in minutes suddenly, you must show up on your court date appear. A conviction for the 3 years the speeding ticket, you can also the! Negotiate a recall of the order and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state people are to... Generally, the court will notify the NC DMV state, meaning they do not pay it this... Example speeding ticket in Virginia for driving 74 mph in a construction zone— $ 250 it is a! All states charged with meaning they do not vary by county your and! To protect yourself us to fight a speeding ticket lawyer in Salisbury NC. A “ ticket ” which informs you of what offense you are pleading guilty for... And Cookie Policy a court date does vary are the most common way people encounter the criminal justice system are... Handle them properly and pain-free legal process 74 mph in a 55 mph, so you are being with! Salisbury, NC with a wealth of experience throughout Rowan county and surrounding counties to a! You will be suspended indefinitely until you resolve the case a court date on time violation results the! Permitted in all states types of penalties the fine for speeding in school. From speeding tickets in Other cities and counties in North Carolina, it could also result in huge fines an. You must search for each citation separately also add points to the charge in states. New pilot program offered by the state Government section of the order the! Before the revocation goes in to effect, you can also add points to the DA court on particular! The state of North Carolina Judicial Branch website to check your court date and you...